Greta Thunberg, Nasa and Fortnite among winners of 2019 Webby awards

Campaigning teenager Greta Thunberg has joined Will Smith, Nasa, Fortnite and Disney as 2019 Webby Award winners for internet excellence.

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences announced the winners on Tuesday.

Smith’s The Jump won a Webby for events and live stream video while Disney was chosen the WebbyMedia Company of the Year for earning the most honours across all Webby categories with 32 wins overall.

Fortnite is recognised in the game category, and Nasa won for best overall social presence.

Issa Rae is the Webby video person of the year for using the internet to showcase breakthrough content from diverse creators.

Teenage campaigner Greta Thunberg scored a Webby for social movement of the year for igniting the #FridaysForFuture global movement for climate justice.

The 23rd annual Webby Awards will be presented in New York City on May 13.

- Press Association

More on this topic

Jaguar Land Rover slumps to €4.1bn loss as Chinese sales slide

Forest owners invited to nurture bee population

Irish authors top the list of the most borrowed books for adults in 2018

Three Irish beaches lose their Blue Flag status for 2019

More in this Section

Here are the most borrowed books from Irish libraries in 2018

US billionaire stuns students by agreeing to pay off all loans

Incredible time-lapse video shows Cork's newest bridge being installed

Eurovision 2019: How a night of banter and bondage played out on Twitter


Chelsea Flower Show feeling Brexit sting

Scientists say you really, really shouldn’t use homemade sunscreen from a recipe on Pinterest

Spoilers: Game of Thrones finale problematic in both plot and execution

The Earth's magnetic north pole is shifting rapidly – so what will happen to the northern lights?

More From The Irish Examiner